Reading a book by it’s cover

butternut

Reading a book by its cover has always been a long time folly of mine and most people, human enough to admit it. I have always been told to refrain from doing that from as far back as I could remember.I have re-lived this recently when on an ordinary day like this, I set out to prepare my family lunch.

I have discovered I have a love for gardening and as a newbie, I have been so excited by the revelation that it’s almost as if I talk,breath,walk and eat gardening.So, if I had an appointment with you, its most probable that I was out seeing to my veggies. I feel like I have, for the first time, gotten the kick that God must have felt when he created the heavens and the earth.Don’t get me wrong, I am not claiming to be God, but the feeling I get from sawing a seed and seeing it transform and grow into something else entirely is such a fulfilling state.

I even talk to them daily as I water , weed and tilt soil daily as part of their naturing.No, I am not crazy but completely sane.I am slowly but surely becoming quite an expert.A few months back I planted some pumpkin-butternut to be precise and I waited patiently for them to mature into fully ripe,sweet and yummy vegies.I learned that when just sprouted till they are baby marrows they have a green stripe colouring which gradually changes in colour to wards a more yellowish colour which deepens as the pumpkin is closest to harvest.However, there was one particular pumpkin which did not play out like the rest.It remained green as it grew larger and larger every day.

I decided to leave it and not harvest it with the others thinking it must be lacking some nutrients.In the meantime I was suppressing my anxiety about how it would finally turn out. We had conflicting views my family and I about what to expect and finally we couldn’t contain our curiosity so we took it in-house and sliced it up.What I found out was that it was still the same butternut as the rest though I had certainly expected some different gene or the very same which would not be fully ripe.

It hid me just then that who ever had come up with that adage had been written after all.‘Never read the book by its cover’ I will just try to remember next time that the Older generations, if they say something in advice, it’s usually coz of their wealth of knowledge.

About ferwam

I am a passionate aspiring writer who is taking baby steps to realise her dream. Though like a baby, its given I will stumble and fall, I wish to stand up and continue with my journey and encourage you all to take part in this dream.
This entry was posted in forgiveness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading a book by it’s cover

  1. Tshedy says:

    I think you are so right by that saying that one should not judge the book by its cover, because its not always what you see is what you get. Things turn out differently most of the time. Hm, gardening is a real therapy m telling you, learnt that from the best, my mum. So hun keep up the good work in indulge in your gardening. 😉

  2. Tshedy says:

    thanks hle nana.that really means a lot coming from you

Leave a Reply

