I remember

It was the winter of 1989 and I was just about 5 years of age and yet the shear excitement of that discovery still feels like the breakthrough was yesterday.

We had been visiting my grandparents house up in the mountains. Right where my father spend most of all his childhood days,atleast until he was old enough to go to a secondary school a couple of villages away where he had to stay with another family who would agree to adopt him till the summer or winter holidays when he would be his parents son again.

As any city born and breed toddler I was excited by the magnitude of expeditions I was presented with every angle I turned.It  could be the beauty of the many strange birds or their lovely melodies. Or the many fast animals I could not move swift enough to alow their capture so that I could ask what they are or what they did as their pass time activities for the days.

But today was different because my father woke me up in the wee hours if morning to share some excitement he obviously could not keep till I woke up to share.

He informed me there was a lot of sugar scattered all over the veld outside waiting for who so ever wished to go get as much as they want. Me,with my sweet tooth shreaked with the merryment of any child who had been given all the candy in the world.

Before I lost my advantage of being the early riser before my peers,I thought,rushing to the door surely was the best thing to do and so off I flu to my dimond mine.

Only, the cold and blinding whiteness hit me unexpectedly. And to my suprise, I could see nothing beyond the whiteness.I quickly went bavk into the house and reported to my father and he advised me to take a cup so I could fill it up before it melted.

And because I trusted my father I went back into the cold and brought in the snow which tasted nothing like sugar but became more like water frozen as I wad later to discover.

About ferwam

I am a passionate aspiring writer who is taking baby steps to realise her dream. Though like a baby, its given I will stumble and fall, I wish to stand up and continue with my journey and encourage you all to take part in this dream.
This entry was posted in weekly challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

