good neighbours

I have good neighbours, funny even,most of the time at least.

My mornings are auspicated with a dialogue between my favourite neighbours from as early as 5am (seriously!)be it about soccer, politics, money or religion. I say good because they never fail to let me know when morning has come should my alarm clock decide to go on a strike.

moyeni

beautiful dawn as the sun rises

“Ntate (Mr)Tom!” calls the other shouting to get him out of his tenement.
“Mr Tom, I say” and the third time he calls out he gets a response:
“Mr Slim sir, what is the matter?”
“Nothing much my elder, I just wanted to remind you today is a working day just like others and that you should leave the comfort of your bed and arm your self with manly wisdom before you can tackle any challenges of the day”.
“Ok” is all Mr Tom gives in reply.

I breathe out a little, knowing that it is sign to go back to my peaceful sleep. I am lucky if I doze off because there is always that possibility he will come back and spark another conversation as he goes through his daily routine of going in and out his rented two room abode:

shabby but does the job

shabby but does the job

> reporting to the men’s restroom (communal toilet)
>washing his hands on the public standpipe
>discarding of his bathing water into the waste pit
>waiting by the water tap for his wife to finish up so they can walk or drive to work (the tap just happens to be by my room’s window).

Most of us tenants here have been out stationed and forced to leave our loved ones behind until the next time we visit home. The one room rental units suffice to provide all in one functions one needs on a daily basis, be it kitchen, bedroom, dinning, library and so on. Those renting two roomed units normally are the lucky ones living with their spouses under one roof.

Mr Tom is a newly wed though he is almost out of the youth age threshold and Mr Slim on the other hand though younger, has been married for a number of years and even has heirs to his wealth he is quite a proud father. Before, which is not way back, Tom got jested for his bachelorhood and I laughed behind the closed-door though I felt sorry for him partly. It didn’t seem to bother him at all.

I thought, surely Slim will get off his case once he married but another episode proved me otherwise, another dialogue! Still 5am!>

“Mr Tom”
“Mr Tom”
“Mr Tom my elder, come outside and stop starring at your wife’s face so you can gain a wealth of wisdom with he rest of the men”, said Mr Slim.
“Yes?” Tom responded.

All that ran through my mind was: ‘will the satire ever stop?’ and of cause thinking what must be going through the poor wife’s mind did not stop me from enjoying the joke and as usual have an entertaining start to a normal day for me.
>

About ferwam

I am a passionate aspiring writer who is taking baby steps to realise her dream. Though like a baby, its given I will stumble and fall, I wish to stand up and continue with my journey and encourage you all to take part in this dream.
This entry was posted in forgiveness, neighbours. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

