From teacher to student

On horseback at mount Moorosi

On horseback at mount Moorosi

“Better yet, I’m gonna ask God to give me purple eye lashes!”out of no where my daughter blurted this as we were enjoying some stolen time in this busy life late last evening. What could have sparked this we wondered my husband and, I as we looked at each other both with puzzled frowns painted on the faces. Clearly we had missed something! We chose to remain silent for longer hoping she would shed some light but she seemed preoccupied.

What could be roaming about this four year old mind! Could it be she saw some doll or just a picture of someone who wore make up that must have fascinated her? I couldn’t take the suspence so I probed though mindful not to seem too interested albeit I scare her or something equally unintended. “Why is that dear?” The answer we got was so simple as she continued rubbing her eye some more as something had clearly felt irritable enough for her to keep poking her eyes with her fingers.

“This ones he has given me are causing me alarm with their constant irritation whenever they end up inside my eyes!” I was amazed to say the least! We both were actually, show me a parent that’s never been guilty of enjoying the warm fuzziness pride over a child’s success brings. Don’t ask me why she chose the colour purple though, coz I did not get the opportunity to continue with the interview.

With the irritable lash plugged off the eye, something else captured her focus and puff the moment went with the wind and we adults were the only ones stuck with decifering the possible inscription codes behind. Why the colour purple and not pink or brown? The colour for royalty is the one she was sure would not give her any problems. Seriously, just how active is a child’s brain, their imagination? They just leave one feeling so amazed and full of questions too.

To me from that I learned to be more trusting in God’s ability to give me what I ask for and of cause that if my eyelash gives me trouble I know to get a colour change, simple math! Every problem has a solution even if we lack the capabilities to bail ourselves out of the trouble and that there is victory in seeking higher power for help.

About ferwam

I am a passionate aspiring writer who is taking baby steps to realise her dream. Though like a baby, its given I will stumble and fall, I wish to stand up and continue with my journey and encourage you all to take part in this dream.
This entry was posted in forgiveness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From teacher to student

  1. A great story. I love when kids just blurt out whatever’s on their minds. And it usually makes no sense to us, yet to the child it does!

  2. ferwam says:

    I am forever truly amazed at their ever growing mind. I am even more excited by the evidence of your contribution to this post.thank you

Leave a Reply

