Daily prompt: nice is as nice does

Tell us about the nicest thing you’ve ever done.

First of, it is not in my culture to self proclaim albeit, give one undue wings to swore with in a mist of ego. But also another adage goes that people will only proclaim your greatness on your grave bed by your coffin as the earth is open-mouthed ready to bury you six feet in her belly, never to be seen again in flesh but to be thought of in spirit. I will, share my experience therefore bearing the wisdom of the later saying in mind.

I was surprised a while back by a friend who reminded me of her upcoming marriage anniversary. NO, the surprise was not over the celebration for her life with her dotting husband and children. It was the part I apparently played. I only remember vaguely that she and her beloved were frustrated for a while early in their marriage but since I never heard of that again I assumed it was not a huge deal. We lend them a copy of a book whose tittle I sadly do not remember, for them to go over as a couple. She sent me a short thank you note and told me the reason she still feels like they are just from their honeymoon and decided not to give up on her marriage is the book.

Now that’s, nice as nice does it. A simple sharing of my love for reading and a marriage saved and lives salvaged.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. To Serve Mankind | The Jittery Goat
  2. Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Under the Monkey Tree
  3. The Everyday Sexism Project, Caesar and John Lennon | AS I PLEASE
  4. Nice – very nice 🙂 | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Kids get to me faster than anyone | From One Crazy Life To Another
  6. Kindness | My Little Avalon
  7. DP Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Sabethville
  8. Host | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  9. Is it false to be nice? | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  10. The Daily Post: Nicety Nice : SiegMom
  11. Violins, cars and stereos: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  12. 365 days of defiance
  13. Daily Prompt: Nice is as Nice Does | Thoughts of an INFP
  14. Be Nice | A mom’s blog

About ferwam

I am a passionate aspiring writer who is taking baby steps to realise her dream. Though like a baby, its given I will stumble and fall, I wish to stand up and continue with my journey and encourage you all to take part in this dream.
This entry was posted in daily prompts, Topic Ideas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Daily prompt: nice is as nice does

  1. karmicangel says:

    That is always nice – when you find out something you did had a positive effect you might not have immediately known about.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nice as Nice Does | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Be Nice | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Thank You Masked Man/ Daily Prompt | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  5. Lisa's Kansa Muse says:

    That was a great that you had a positive effect on them . http://kansamuse.wordpress.com/

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  7. kennecttome2 says:

    As a 12 year old boy with two young sisters I told my parents that it was me who broke a few things instead of the truth . I took their punishment as I felt partially responsible as I was the eldest.

    • ferwam says:

      Aish! They must love you a lot.hope you didn’t always bail them out then coz they also needed owning up to their mess in order to grow into responsible adults

  8. Pingback: AN UNDERSTANDING SMILE | hastywords

  9. Pingback: To Serve Mankind | The Jittery Goat

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  11. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet

  12. Pingback: Daily prompt: Nice as nice does | The Wandering Poet

  13. Pingback: Nice is as nice does | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a comment